Association News

Duties Forthcoming on Aluminum Sheet from 18 Countries

By on

The U.S. Department of Commerce has made a preliminary determination that imports of common alloy aluminum sheet from 18 countries are being sold at less than fair value in the United States.  As a result, the agency will instruct U.S. Customs and Border Protection to require U.S. importers of common alloy aluminum sheet from Bahrain, Brazil, Croatia, Egypt, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Korea, Oman, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Taiwan, and Turkey to deposit estimated antidumping duties at the time of importation. 

“Today’s decisions underscore the Commerce Department’s commitment to combating unfair trade,” said Tom Dobbins, president and CEO of the Aluminum Association. “The Commerce Department’s findings confirm that foreign producers relied on artificially low prices to rapidly increase their aluminum sheet exports to the United States, just as unfairly traded imports from China were beginning to withdraw from the market.”

In December 2018,  the U.S. International Trade Commission  reached a unanimous determination that U.S. producers were materially injured by unfairly-traded imports of common alloy aluminum sheet from China, leading to duties on such imports. These unfair trade orders prompted Chinese producers to shift exports of common alloy sheet to other foreign markets, prompting producers in those countries to export their own production to the United States.

Preliminary duty deposit rates range from 2.72 percent on products from Greece to 136.9 percent on some products from Brazil.

The Commerce Department’s determination follows the agency’s announcement of its preliminary determinations on August 7, 2020, in which it reached affirmative determinations that imports of common alloy aluminum sheet from Bahrain, Brazil, India, and Turkey are subsidized by the relevant governments.  Similarly, the Commerce Department reached preliminary affirmative antidumping determinations with respect to imports from all 18 countries subject to the case.